FoodMeOmaha Goes to the Philippines, Part 1: Introduction


FoodMeOmaha goes to the Philippines! Philippines Flag

In just a couple of days, I will be in the Philippines for the first time. I am super-excited for the culture, food, and fun to come. It’s a trip of lifetime guided by wonderful Filipino friends (and foodies), Maude and Joen.

My blogging will be temporarily on hiatus but I will be sending twitter updates @FoodMeOmaha.

When I return to Omaha, I will share some of my Filipino food experiences! Stay tuned for the blog post series, “FoodMeOmaha Goes to the Philippines” in January. I foresee glorious, memorable food in the Philippines.

Here’s a teaser of some of the Filipino food we will be feasting on.

Spicy Lechon (Spicy Roasted Pig)

Spicy Lechon (Spicy Roasted Pig)

Lumpia Shanghai

Lumpia Shanghai

Dinuguan or Dugo-Dugo (Pork's Blood Stew)

Dinuguan or Dugo-Dugo (Pork’s Blood Stew)

Ponchero (Beef Stew with Bone Marrow)

Ponchero (Beef Stew with Bone Marrow)

Sisig (Sizzling Pork Face)

Sisig (Sizzling Pork Face)

Chop Suey (Chinese "Assorted Pieces")

Chop Suey (Chinese “Assorted Pieces”)

Pancit Noodles

Pancit Noodles

Crispy Kangkong (Crispy Spinach)

Crispy Kangkong (Crispy Spinach)

Escabeche (Sweet and Sour Fish)

Escabeche (Sweet and Sour Fish)

Buad (Dried Fish)

Buad (Dried Fish)

Chicharon (Crispy Pork Skin)

Chicharon (Crispy Pork Skin)

Chorizo (Spanish Sausage)

Chorizo (Spanish Sausage)

Hanging Rice

Hanging Rice

Tinolang Isda (Fish Soup)

Tinolang Isda (Fish Soup)

Puto (Sticky Rice) and Sikwate (Chocolate)

Puto (Sticky Rice) and Sikwate (Chocolate)

Thanks to Maude for the preview food list and online references.

6 thoughts on “FoodMeOmaha Goes to the Philippines, Part 1: Introduction

  1. Philippines? Wow, have fun! I really want to go there too. I dream about Palau Islands. Are you comming to Taiwan? If you come, I will take you to Night Street Market 🙂

    • I agree! Pancit noodles is comfort food. And, the lechon (roasted pig) was the bomb in the Philippines! I will be writing about that in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

