Renae’s First Raw Oyster Experience


On March 26th, 2012, a gaggle of girlfriends, Karen, Michelle, Renae, Zoe, and myself, met up at Shucks Downtown. I was in my raw oyster haven. (See my previous post, “Shucks is My Raw Oyster Haven”.) I was slurping up oysters when I learned that Renae never had a raw oyster! My eyes lit up. I exclaimed, “You never had a raw oyster before?! Deflowering! We need to introduce you to the raw oyster…”

I love introducing new foods to others! People-meet-food matchmaking.

Renae meet the raw oyster. Renae charmingly smiled but didn’t look too excited. However, with positive encouragement from the group, Renae tried her first raw oyster.

Once was not enough. She swallowed her first oyster which I strongly believe does not maximize the glory of the oyster. We told her she had to try one chewing-style.

Renae meet another raw oyster.

After two raw oysters, the conclusion…  Raw oysters isn’t Renae’s type of food. I asked her what she thinks about the raw oyster.  Here’s her honest response:

“I really think I could have lived my life without ever trying an oyster. However, four very persuasive ladies thought it would be a good time for me to try one. I was told to “just swallow without chewing”. It wasn’t bad, but slimy going down my throat. Then I was told “no! You should chew it!”, so I had to try a second oyster. Really not great. If someone wants to try oysters for the first time, I suggest you put some lemon on it and just swallow – you don’t taste it as much, and you don’t get sand leftovers after chewing.”

Too bad that Renae had some sand leftovers. On a few rare occasions (among many oysters), I have had some slight sandiness. While Renae and raw oysters are not a match, it was awesome that she was a great sport and tried something new.

As an oyster lover and food matchmaker, I strongly advocate trying a raw oyster if you haven’t. If you don’t try it, you don’t know if the raw oyster is your food match!

Here’s a picture of Renae and “four very persuasive ladies.”

Thanks Renae for trying not just one, but two, raw oysters and sharing your story and food perspective with FoodMeOmaha!

Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Renae’s First Raw Oyster Experience

  1. Nice! I love deflowering people as well. 🙂 I think it is also up to us, oyster lovers, to not make a big deal out of it. Because the expectations get so high that when they eat it, it’s like. “Eh. Slugs.” LOL

  2. Thanks for the blog. I don’t think I’m as adventurous as Renee. My husband and I tried MaiThai this weekend. The best chicken pad Thai I’ve ever had. Keep up the posts. I base my food outings on it. ; )

    • Thanks, Amy! If it helps, Renae was still smiling despite not liking the raw oyster. 🙂

      I will have to try Mai Thai’s chicken pad thai next time! My latest favorite at Mai Thai is their chicken garlic noodles.

      More posts to come!

Leave a Reply

