My Efficient Water Boiler


I just made some hot tea with my efficient water boiler.

Last Christmas, gal pal, Zoe, (aka Chinese Santa) gave me the Breville SK500XL Ikon Cordless 1.7 Liter Stainless-Steel Electric Kettle.  This is one of my favorite, commonly-used kitchen gadgets.

The electric kettle quickly boils water, alerts you with a chime, then automatically shuts off. It is well-designed with a sleek look, soft-grip handle, large lid-opening for easy cleaning and water filling, lighted transparent window to view the water level, and a detachable base for a cord-free kettle.

Do I need an electric kettle when I have a stove and microwave to boil water?  No, I don’t need it, but I want and prefer it for its efficiency and ease! The kettle boils water super fast (within a few minutes). Just fill, boil, and pour. I have used it for tea, hot water baths, and the Asian versions of instant cup of noodles.

If you boil water on a regular basis or for a large group, then I recommend the Breville cordless electric kettle. If not, the stove and microwave is sufficient.

If interested, you can purchase or find more information and reviews on the Breville SK500XL Ikon Cordless 1.7 Liter Stainless-Steel Electric Kettle at Amazon or Williams-Sonoma.

Thank you Chinese Santa for my efficient water boiler!

I am enjoying my hot tea now.

5 thoughts on “My Efficient Water Boiler

    • Good question, Amy! It got me thinking. So far, I just rinse and make sure I do not leave water in the kettle after use. I was curious and looked closely at my kettle in good light and I do have slight hard water stains on the interior bottom after about five months of use. I know Omaha has hard water. According the manual, mineral deposits in the tap water may cause the interior to discolour over time and it can be removed with a proprietary kettle descalar or a combination of vinegar and water. I will be trying the vinegar and water method and let you know how it works!

  1. Best tea kettle ever! I have used it over a year and half, and have not needed to clean it. It looks pretty clean.

    • My interest is piqued. What has been your Breville experience? Which electric kettle do you recommend and why?

Leave a Reply

