Seafood Treasures at Taita, Part 2


“Not all treasure is silver and gold…” – Jack Sparrow

X marks the spot. Taita is the place to go for unique seafood treasures in landlocked Omaha.

FoodMeOmaha and foodie best friend, Maude, had a memorable first dinner at Taita Restaurant. (See “Seafood Treasures at Taita, Part 1″.) During that visit, Maude exclaimed, “I have to bring my hubby and the ‘rent-in-laws here!”

The Moreno Clan at Taita. Maude, Joen, Tito and Tita Moreno (left to right).

Hence, just a few days later, FoodMeOmaha and the Moreno clan was lured to the X! There were delighted diners all around the table at Taita. We enjoyed the scallops, razor clams, and pave dessert (featured on part 1). And, we discovered new seafood treasures!

Part 2 features the new dishes to dive for…

Squid

  • Description: House Chorizo, Garlic Confit, Roasted Tomato Aioli
  • Price: $10
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 9.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 9.5 out of 10

Oh my heaven. I had a glorious bite of tender calamari and stuffed chorizo with a creamy sauce that melted in my mouth. Sea and land unite for a big bang. I also enjoyed the crispy tempura-fried calamari. I adored this dish! Marvelous.

Spanish Octopus

  • Description: Spanish Octopus, Romesco, Spring Onions, Yucca, Chimachurri, Pickled Radish
  • Price: $10
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 9.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 9.5 out of 10

This is the most tender octopus I have ever had! Sooo tender and sooo goood! I was expecting the typical, chewy texture. When I had a bite, I sank in my seat in surprise and delight. The best octopus in town.

Salmon

  • Description: Butternut Squash, Pickled Onions, Apple Salad
  • Price: $16
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8 out of 10

I had the salmon for my main entree. While the tentacled creatures was the gold of this dinner, the salmon deserves attention as well. The salmon, butternut squash puree, and apple salad was a great combination. My favorite component was the crispy salmon skin.

FoodMeOmaha and Taita Chef/Owner Jose Dionicio.

We had the pleasure of meeting the chef and owner Jose Dionicio of Taita. Chef Jose shared his passion for seafood. We learned he massages the octopus using a Japanese technique and back in the day he was a fisherman.

Hook, line, and sinker, Taita is my favorite seafood restaurant in town. FoodMeOmaha’s top three Taita dishes are the razor clams, squid, and Spanish octopus. X marks the spot.

Thanks to Tito and Tita Moreno, Joen, and Maude for the wonderful company. Thanks to Chef Jose Dionico and staff of Taita for the wonderful food and service.

Taita on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

