My First Balls: Rocky Mountain Oysters


I have eaten lots of balls – meatballs, mozzarella balls, melon balls, cheese balls, and even fish eye balls. (See the FoodMeOmaha post, “My First Filipino Food Experience, Part 1: Fish Eye Me!“)  But I had yet to try the novelty, real-deal cow balls until a month ago.

On Saturday, October 13th, my boyfriend Brian, his son Cade, and I met up with Brian’s family for dinner at Black Iron Grill Steakhouse and Saloon in Rock Port, Missouri. Black Iron Grill is an American steakhouse about an hour and half drive from Omaha.

In the past, I had mentioned to Brian that I wanted to try rocky mountain oysters (something he has tried but I haven’t). We perused the menu and lo and behold we read “Mountain Oysters 1/2 pound. You ain’t gonna eat these raw! We slice ‘em thin & bread ‘em by hand”.  Brian’s eyes lit up devilishly and he said, “Here’s your chance!”

Thus, I spontaneously tried my first rocky mountain oysters. When I laid eyes on the rocky mountain oysters, I loudly exclaimed, “My first balls!”

Rocky Mountain Oysters

  • Description: 1/2 pound of thinly sliced, breaded cow testicles with ranch dressing
  • Price: $6.99
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 7 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 7 out of 10

Not bad! Good in fact. Nice crispy, fried outside and a chewy, thin inside. The texture is gizzard-like but not as chewy or thick. The taste is similar to liver but not as pungent. If you like fried gizzard or fried liver, then you should like fried balls as well.

Of course, I had to examine what it looked like “naked” underneath the breading.

Brian likes rocky mountain oysters with no shame or mental hangup. He mentioned that Black Iron Grill’s mountain oysters are similar to the ones at Dinker’s Bar in Omaha.

We weren’t the only ones who ate rocky mountain oysters. Brian and I encouraged two boys, Cade and Holden, to try some “oysters” for the first time.

.

Cade wanted no evidence of his ball eating ways!

Brian’s nephew, Holden, ate his first rocky mountain oyster with gusto. I am not sure if Holden knew what he was eating but he liked it.

Ultimately, I had a blast (or ball) trying rocky mountain oysters for the first time! I would eat them again.

Side note: I confess that during and after this food experience, I was mystified and fascinated by how the balls became rocky mountain oysters. I didn’t understand all the technicalities from start to finish. Joel, Brian’s brother-in-law, explained the process but I could not fully visualize and connect all the dots. I had tons of questions. What part is what? How did the balls become flat? And, where did the swimmers go? CuriousMe did some research. Stay tuned for “FoodMeTrivia Series #3: The Making of Rocky Mountain Oysters”!

Black Iron Grill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

