The Grey Plume’s 2012 National Rainier Cherry Day Dinner


The Grey Plume is a fine-dining, modern American restaurant located in Midtown Crossing. They emphasize being green and using locally-grown produce and livestock.

The Grey Plume hosted a National Rainier Cherry Day Dinner on July 11th, 2012. This is the second year they were selected for the Northwest Cherries Tree to Table event. Northwest Cherries chose one restaurant per US state to receive $400 worth of Rainier cherries (about 40 lbs.) and feature a unique Rainier cherry menu.

I was excited. The Grey Plume’s chef/owner, Clayton Chapman, is highly acclaimed and I had recently discovered the crisp, ultra-sweet, delicious Rainier cherry. (See the post “Rainier Cherry Discovery“).

Thus, an excited food blogger (me) and boyfriend (Brian) had a special four course dinner featuring the Rainier cherry at The Grey Plume. Each course was paired with an alcoholic beverage so I was extra “happy”…

This was a food experience to remember.

The dinner started out with complimentary bread with butter. The bread had a crusty outside and soft airy inside. It’s a good filler. I only had one since I did not want to spoil my appetite.

We were served a Cherry Amuse Bouche compliments of the chef. Oh my! This was a marvelous cherry teaser. Cherry mouse, spiced cherry gelee, grand cherry puree, finished with feta and a sprig of fennel. I wanted more. I looked forward to the cherry courses to come.

Drink 1: Cherry 75 Cocktail. This drink was my favorite. Sweet, crispy, and bubbly. The best part was the cherry immersed in the bubbly drink.

Course 1: Rainier Cherry Many Ways. The cherries many ways included a gelee, panna cotta, croquette goat cheese, pickled cherry, and puree. My delicious highlights were the gelee and croquette. The gelee was a smooth refreshing, high-quality jello accented with the sprig of fennel. The croquette had a nice crispy breading and melt-in-your-mouth goat cheese mixture. The tart, pickled cherry and salami-like panna cotta was interesting and a unique flavor experience.

Drink 2: Hexamer, Riesling Quartzil Reserve, Nahe, Germany 2008. I am not a wine connoisseur but this pleased my palette. The riesling had a crisp edge and acidity balance.

Course 2: Day Boat Scallop. This was my favorite course. I loved the seared scallop and cherry buttermilk gnocchi with the cherry marmalade. Sooo gooood… Like the other courses, the sprig of fennel was a finishing touch.

Drink 3: Darting, Pinot Meunier trocken, Pfalz, Germany 2009. The pinot has a nice red depth and complemented the lamb. Brian is not big on red wines. Sooo… I had my glass and most of his. The result, one happy girl. I am not a big drinker so I was very happy by both the food AND the drinks!  As seen in the picture above, I get red when I drink…  (Excuse the cherry face!)

Course 3: Dakota Harvest Lamb Saddle. There were various cuts of lamb from loin, chop, and tenderloin with smoked rainier cherry, oyster mushroom, and fennel. The smoked rainier cherry was interesting. The lamb with cherry sauce and sprig of fennel pleased my carnivore spirit. Savory goodness. The star of the dish was the small tenderloin. Delicious.

Drink 4: Kopke Ruby Red Port. I am not sure what kind of port we had but it was port-potent!  It wasn’t Brian’s “cup of tea” so I claimed his drink in addition to mine. I was very happy…

Course 4: Clafoutis. Black forest cake, cherry ice cream, and cherry riesling gelee. Dark moist chocolate with a hard chocolate outside, tart cherry ice cream, and the gelee was a happy ending to the meal.

National Rainier Cherry Day Dinner

  • Description: Four course dinner featuring the Rainier cherry. Each course is paired with an alcoholic beverage.
  • Price: $70.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 9.75 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 9.75 out of 10

I enjoyed the cherry dinner from start to finish and left very happy. The Grey Plume provided a cherry journey of creative, delicious courses paired with complementary drinks. A food experience to remember!

Bravo Grey Plume!

The Grey Plume on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “The Grey Plume’s 2012 National Rainier Cherry Day Dinner

Leave a Reply

