My Food Baby at Lo Sole Mio Ristorante


Lo Sole Mio Ristorante

Lo Sole Mio Ristorante is a local Italian restaurant tucked in a residential area off of Center Road and 32nd Avenue. I have visited Lo Sole Mio several times throughout the past decade. Each time, I leave 100% full from colossal amounts of good, traditional Italian, comfort food.

They have a quaint, mish-mash look of Greek statues, columns, ivy, fine linen, and dim lighting.

Usually, they are very busy and do not take reservations. On my past dinner visits, I purposely arrived early to avoid a wait.  (Hence, the lack of people in the pics above.) On a Thursday and Friday, I arrived at 5:20pm and 4:30pm, respectively, and both times I was seated immediately.

On this post, I am writing about my dinner date with Brian on Thursday, February 23rd, 2012.

The meal starts out with complimentary homemade soft white bread, bruschetta, roasted garlic, parmesan, and olive oil.

The white bread is okay and bruschetta refreshing. For me, it’s all about the roasted garlic. I am an avid garlic lover. I love dipping the bread in a parmesan, pepper, and olive oil mixture then top it with roasted garlic. Yumminess in my mouth. The garlic makes me giddy.

Bread and Accompaniments
.
  • Description: Homemade bread, bowl of fresh tomato and basil, and a bowl of oven roasted garlic cloves
  • Price: Complimentary
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.5 out of 10
We had plenty of food to start us off but that did not stop us from ordering the stuffed mozzarella appetizer. Hot, melted, cheesy, comfort goodness with flavorful red sauce.
.

Stuffed Mozzarella

  • Description: Mozzarella, lightly breaded, stuffed with Pesto, then topped with our Marinara Sauce.
  • Price: $8.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.5 out of 10
.

I am already 90% full with the bread and appetizer.

Each entree comes with complimentary soup or salad  I had the stracciatella soup and Brian upgraded to the Caesar salad.

The stracciatella soup reminds me of Campbell’s Chicken and Stars and egg drop soup in one.

Warm and nourishing soup that I enjoy.

.

Stracciatella Alla Carte

  • Description: Chicken broth with beaten eggs and Parmesan cheese
  • Price: Complimentary
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.0 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.0 out of 10

The Caesar salad is delicious and a nice refreshing break among all the carbs. I favor the creamy Caesar dressing, parmesan cheese, and the crunchy buttery croutons. The “cherry” on top is the salty anchovies!

Caesar Salad

  • Description: Caesar salad (upgrade from a tossed salad)
  • Price: $3.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.0 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.0 out of 10
After sharing both the soup and salad, I am 95% full.
.
.
When our main entrees arrived, we had some fun and wore the bibs offered to us.
.
.
For my main entree, I had the Pasta La Losole with angel hair. I enjoy the combination of chicken, mushrooms, artichokes, and creamy white sauce. I add some of the roasted garlic for extra goodness. The chicken was slightly dry but still good.
.

Pasta La Losole

  • Description: Sauteed chicken strips, mushrooms and artichokes, served with creamy white sauce over choice of pasta.
  • Price: $19.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.0 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.0 out of 10

Brian had the Veal Parmigiana. The star of this dish is the mammoth veal smothered in sauce and cheese. Literally, it’s the size of my face, well a squashed, longer version. Tasty! The spaghetti itself complemented the veal but did not stand out for me.

Veal Parmigiana

  • Description: Veal breaded & baked, topped with Mozzarella & red sauce, served with a side spaghetti
  • Price: $20.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.25 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.25 out of 10
Lo Sole Mio’s has huge portions. I only ate a small handful of my pasta and a couple of bites of Brian’s dish. At this point, I am 98% full. The remaining food is packed and enjoyed later. The pasta reheats very well and lasts for at least two meals.
.
I had to leave space for Lo Sole Mio’s tiramisu…
.

The tiramisu is my favorite tiramisu in town. I highly recommend their tiramasu with their freshly brewed coffee. The tiramisu has the right balance between the lady fingers, whipped mascarpone, coffee, and cocoa. Enjoy light and fluffy bites with hot coffee and oh my… Soooo gooood. I love Lo Sole Mio’s tiramisu!

Tiramisu

  • Description: “Our famous tiramisu starts with lady fingers dipped in espresso coffee with sweet mascarpone cheese whipped over the top & then lightly sprinkled with cocoa”
  • Price: $4.95
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 9.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 9.5 out of 10

In the end, I am 100% FULL… Literally, I look like I am 6 months along. Hence, I leave patting my tummy and saying, “I have a food baby”

.

Lo Sole Mio’s has simple, down-to-earth traditional Italian comfort food. It isn’t fancy or sophisticated, but its hearty goodness and huge portions. The main attraction that has me coming back is the roasted garlic, bountiful pasta dishes, and the tiramisu.

.

Lo Sole Mio Ristorante

  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 8.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Service Rating: 9 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 8.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Atmosphere Rating: 8 out of 10
  • FoodMe Overall Rating: 8.5 out of 10

Lo Sole Mio Ristorante on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “My Food Baby at Lo Sole Mio Ristorante

Leave a Reply

