Shucks is My Raw Oyster Haven


Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar

Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar opened a new downtown location on 19th and Leavenworth (previously Dixie Quick’s) earlier this year. They have a casual, seashore, dive atmosphere and friendly, good service.

I am delighted that Shucks is now in the downtown area. I have visited Shucks Downtown (and Shucks Pacific) on several occasions. Shucks is the place to go to for raw oysters in Omaha and I love raw oysters. On each visit, I always order their raw oysters and leave happy and satisfied.

Shucks’ raw oyster is a refreshing, full-body morsel of tasting pleasure. I like to add lemon, horseradish, and, some times, hot sauce. When the oyster hits your tongue it’s a cool ocean touch, then I chew for an ocean-sweet experience. I then slurp up the remaining oyster juices from the shell for a finishing taste. Divinely delicious.

I love how Rowan Jacobsen’s A Geography of Oysters: The Connoisseur’s Guide to Oyster Eating in North America describes the taste of a raw oyster. “When you eat oysters, you wake up.” “Chewing is where the toothsome pleasure of the oyster comes out.”  Check out an excerpt at http://www.chow.com/food-news/54106/the-taste-of-an-oyster/

Raw oysters wake me up. This is my main attraction at Shucks.

Shucks’ daily oysters and pricing will vary (see left picture). I usually get the Jumbo Blue Point oysters (pictured above) since they are the most cost effective. Often, I get the Blue Point Oyster special for $12.99 a dozen. Shucks also has a happy hour deal for 60 cents an oyster. In the past, I have enjoyed the Roundabout, a dozen of assorted oysters for $19.99.

The Roundabout is pictured above. Each oyster has different nuances in taste. Some have a saltier, stronger-ocean taste and others have a cleaner, less-ocean taste. I love them all.

Raw Oysters
.
  • Description: Fresh raw oysters on a half shell
  • Price: Varies
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 9.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 7 to 9 out of 10 (varies due to price)

I should not neglect mentioning that Shucks also has great hot seafood dishes. I particularly like their clam chowder soup and calamari. There are other hot seafood dishes that I would like to try as well.

Of course, I will continue to go to Shucks for their raw oysters.

Shucks is my raw oyster haven.

Stay tuned for my next blog, “Renae’s First Raw Oyster Experience”!  On a past Shucks’ visit, I had the honor of witnessing (and encouraging) my friend’s first raw oyster experience…

Shucks Fish House and Oyster Bar on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Shucks is My Raw Oyster Haven

Leave a Reply

