Rick’s Boatyard Cafe Consistently Inconsistent


Rick’s Boatyard Cafe

I have visited Rick’s Boatyard Cafe several times this past year and unfortunately their service and food is lacking. My last visit finalized my judgement that Rick’s Boatyard is consistently inconsistent.

On Monday, April 23rd, I went to Rick’s Boatyard Cafe with girlfriends, Zoe and Renae. We sat outside to enjoy the outdoor environment. They are located on the riverfront on the historical Lewis and Clark landing. On this visit, the staff was nice, but slow and inefficient. There was a lot of waiting.

After some menu perusing and waiting, we started out with the the tempura fried calamari.

On this visit… it was yummy. I loved the tender, fresh thick-cuts of the calamari and textured fried batter with the chipotle-like aioli sauce. Note that the picture above is missing a calamari strip (It was in hungry Zoe’s stomach… Hehe.)  Unfortunately, this dish is not consistently good. I have had the calamari two other times in the past. The first time I had it was oh-my-goodness delicious but the second time it was a disappointment. The calamari strips were thinner, not as tender, and on the oily side. Inconsistent.

Tempura Fried Calamari
.
  • Description: Tender tempura fried strips with ancho chili aioli
  • Price: $11.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 6 or 9 out of 10 (not consistent)
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 6 or 9 out of 10 (not consistent)
After some more waiting, the waiter brought my cup of clam chowder.
.

It was on par to can soup. The cream was diluted and the clam was scarce.

New England Seafood Clam Chowder
.
  • Description: Clam chowder
  • Price: $5.00 (for bowl)
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 4 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 4 out of 10
.

For my main entree, I ordered their steak salad, which I have enjoyed in the past. I liked the combination of the savory meat, flavorful bleu cheese, candied walnut crunch, sweet vinaigrette dressing, and fresh greens. However, this time the steak was overcooked, not medium-rare as requested. It took awhile to get the waiter’s attention. They made a new steak at the right temperature. I wished my second steak had more bleu cheese, and the dressing was sweeter than I remembered.
.

Bleu Cheese Broiled Steak Salad

.
  • Description: Pepper seared sirlion topped with bleu cheese butter and served on mesclun greens tossed with candied walnuts, pears and sherry vinaigrette 
  • Price: $15.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 6 or 8 out of 10 (not consistent)
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 6 or 8 out of 10 (not consistent)

Zoe ordered the smoked salmon salad. In Zoe’s words, “It was naked!” The salad lacked dressing as seen above. The salmon had a subtle-smoked, fresh taste but overall this dish was bland.

Smoked Salmon Salad
.
  • Description: Romaine hearts, mandarin oranges, toasted almonds, Colby Jack cheese, tomato and onion in raspberry-ranch dressing topped with smoked salmon
  • Price: $14.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 4 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 4 out of 10

Renae ordered the Scottish Atlantic salmon dish. The waiter recommended this and shared that they are the only restaurant to serve salmon from Scotland. I tried some salmon but I was unable to distinguish the salmon ‘s Scottish origins. I liked it but it wasn’t impressive.

Scottish Atlantic Salmon
.
  • Description: This naturally raised salmon from the pristine waters of the Shetland Islands in Scotland. Mesquite grilled with lemon-herb butter and served with Yukon gold mashed potatoes and chef’s vegetables.
  • Price: $26.00
  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 7 out of 10
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 5 out of 10

Rick’s Boatyard Cafe’s fish dishes have never impressed. In past visits, I have tried other fish dishes, including their fried catfish and cedar planked white fish. They are okay, but not memorable or worth the price. If you want a seafood restaurant, I would recommend Bonefish Grill or Shuck’s over Rick’s Boatyard Cafe.

Overall, food and service is an issue. Rick’s Boatyard is consistently inconsistent and this aligns with the high and low reviews online. I hope that Rick’s Boatyard Cafe will get better; otherwise, I can see the business sinking, if it isn’t already.

Rick’s Boatyard Cafe

  • FoodMe YUM Rating: 5.5 out of 10 (not consistent)
  • FoodMe Service Rating: 4 out of 10 (not consistent)
  • FoodMe Value Rating: 4 out of 10
  • FoodMe Atmosphere Rating: 6.5 out of 10
  • FoodMe Overall Rating: 5.5 out of 10

Rick's Boatyard Café on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Rick’s Boatyard Cafe Consistently Inconsistent

  1. The food looks great, its unfortunate to hear how inconsistent they are in food preparations. I have been wanting to try Rick’s for quite some time now, but I have to say your post is making me a little apprehensive. Great post!

    • I wish they had great food and service consistently. Unfortunately, Rick’s is a gamble and odds are not good based on my visits. Thanks on the feedback, Felicia!

Leave a Reply

